Confessions of AttyArj

what’s up | December 9, 2009

I was driving on my way home kanina when I heard the song “What’s up” by 4 Non Blondes over the radio.  Yes, “What’s up”!   As in

Twenty-five years and my life is still
Trying to get up that great big hill of hope
For a destination
And I realized quickly when I knew I should
That the world was made up of this brotherhood of man
For whatever that means
And so I cry sometimes
When I’m lying in bed
Just to get it all out
What’s in my head
And I am feeling a little peculiar
And so I wake in the morning
And I step outside
And I take a deep breath and I get real high
And I scream at the top of my lungs
What’s going on?
And I say, hey hey hey hey
I said hey, what’s going on?

To those who aren’t familiar with the song, or were simply too young when the song came out, “What’s up” and 4 Non Blondes became popular sometime in 1993.  

Since I was in College then, a lot of my College memories came flashing back as soon as I heard the song. 

I remembered my bobita dormmates who were with me through good times and good times.  May bad times din pero mostly good. 

I remembered Wewet, my BFWWU (best friend in the whole wide universe).  We called each other that years before mauso ang BFF acronym na popular ngayon.  Wewet whose bra popped open during one of the UAAP championship games in Araneta.  Wewet who cried on top of the Cyclone Loop in Star City.  Wewet who surpised us all by not showing up at her surprise bday party.

I remembered At’ Cel, ang master initiator ng lahat ng kalokohan.  Si At’ Cel na nagnenok ng soup bowl sa Pizza Hut dahil gusto nya ng lalagyan ng taho.  Si At’ Cel na gumawa ng student council campaign posters para sa crush nya pero hindi nagpakilala.  

I remembered Ate Jean.  Si Doctor Doctor Jean (she’s a PT and an MD), ang genius ng Mother Ignacia Dorm.   Si Ate Jean na maaga matulog at laging bwisit samin dahil maingay kami nina Lanie.  Si Ate Jean and her kasungitan.  Oo, masungit ka dati pero mabait ka na ngayon, hehehe.     

I remembered Lanie.  Si Lanie na pinaka-maliit pero pinaka-maingay.  Si Lanie na nang-away ng dormmate habang naka-broadcast sa intercom.  Si Lanie ang aming rebel with a very little cause.  Si Lanie na nagtanan kasama ni Bing na hinanap ng mga kamag-anak niyang nakasakay sa truck ni Sto. Nino de Bombero, no kidding.  

I remembered my Ate If and her obessession with JV.  Si Ate If and her lady like manners.  Si Ate If na laging ubos ang allowance.  Si Ate If at ang kanyang “nagmamahal na tsong” na si At’ La.

I remembered At’ La, ang “nagmamahal na tsong” ni Ate If.  Si At’ La na dinadalaw sa dorm ng mga dyakuno pag hindi nakaka-samba.  Si At’ La na may masugod na tagahanga na itago na lang natin sa pangalang Neil, hehehe.  Si At’ La at ang kanyang show your toothbrush instead of ID moment.  Hehehe.  Si At’ La na nagagalit pag hinahalo namin ang kanyang halo-halo, spaghetti at taho.  Go figure.

I remembered Poleng and her obessession with the song “Somebody”.  Kelangan tumutog ang Somebody from heart beat to heart beat or else uulitin ang kanta.  Si Poleng na parang kandidato sa jeepney stop sa Crossing dahil pasisingitin sa pila lahat ng kakilala.      

I remembered Thets.  Thets who almost burned down the dorm because she forgot to turn off the water heater.  Thets and her sleeping in bra and half slip moments.  Thets and her constant stream of ideas on how and where to stalk the UST Tigers.  Grabe, kahit simbang gabi, naghahanap kami ng basketball player sa UST open field.  Thets and her rare “duh” moments like “I don’t understand this law, hindi raw pwede mag-own ng real properties ang aliens, eh wala naman talagang aliens”.  At that time, seryoso sha.

I remembered Anne.  Anne and her countless “fans” and real life “Pare Ko” moment.  Anne and her “nagpapasama sakin si Ya” excuse.  Anne and her “I forgive you na, bati na tayo” note when I don’t recall saying sorry in the first place. 

I remembered Gem. Gem and her pang teleserye love story with Alan.  Gem and her “Angelica maligo ka na”, “Anne, ginulo mo na naman ang cabinet”, “Ya, bad influence ka talaga sa kapatid ko”, hehehe.  

I remembered Macor.  Macor, our “bunso” na muntik ng mapalayas sa dorm on her first night kasi naki-sali sa aming illegal bday party celebration. 

Who would ever forget Dra. Pareja, our beloved landlady.  Dra. Pareja who cried a river when she found out that we sneaked two guys into our room as a bday surprise for Wewet who didn’t show up.  Dra. Pareja who calmly told Lanie to stop cursing AP and to get off the intercom.  Dra. Pareja who prayed for all of us to pass our respective board/bar exams so she can finally get rid of us.  Dra. Pareja who hated and yet loved us more than the rule abiding ones. 

For us bobitas, college was a blast.  Masaya ang buhay dorm, aral ng konti, gimik ng todo.  At that time, SM Centerpoint was our default destination.  We go there at least 2x a week and I can honestly say that more than half of our weekly allowance was spent inside SM Centerpoint.  Night out means “disco” (yes, disco was our term) sa Faces, Euphoria, Ozone or Arts Venue, pag maliit ang budget.  Towards the end of our college years, nauso ang Hardrock and Streelife sa Glorietta so siempre go kami dun, tatakas siempre sa dorm. 

Grabe, I think we spent more time thinking of allowable excuses to violate dorm rules than studying.  We spent more time cheering for the UST Tigers (and stalking Patrick Fran, Udoy Belmonte,  Dennis Espino, Siot Tanquincen and Bal David) than planning our future but it was all worth it.  It was so much fan.  Besides, we all turned out ok naman.  Kahit papano, nagka-future naman ang mga bobita ng Mother Ignacia.

3 Comments »

  1. i remember all these! i miss our dorm and our dorm life and our dormmies 😦

    remember our top 3 life problems?
    1. saan kakain
    2. kailangan mag aral kasi me quiz, exam, recitation…
    3. lovelife!!!

    Comment by anne — December 9, 2009 @ 11:20 pm

    • so ngayon top 1 na lang?
      – love life!!! 🙂

      Comment by gandadai — December 10, 2009 @ 12:57 am

      • hindi sya problem ngayon 🙂 kasi happiness ang single life!

        Comment by anne — December 10, 2009 @ 10:16 pm


Leave a Reply

    archives

    December 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
