Confessions of AttyArj

bitukang dukha (poor man’s tummy)

October 17, 2008
1 Comment

            One of the perks of being a lawyer in the city is that you get to sample Manila’s gastronomical delights at the expense of the client (of course!).  Nakakahiya mang aminin, the lawyers at our office always look forward and prepare (meaning — starve themselves) for these occasions.           

            A few weeks ago, my office roommie and partner in crime “G” had a rare treat.  She had a merienda meeting at Le Soufflé (Top of the Citi) Thursday and then a lunch meeting at Le Soufflé (the Fort) the following day.

            Sa mga hindi nakaka-alam, Le Soufflé is a popular (and quite pricey) restaurant in Manila known for its delectable (but miniscule) dishes and sinful desserts (hence, its name).              

            After her Thursday meeting, “G” came back to office boasting about the pasta she had.  Since I only had golden banana rolls (meaning: turon, hehehe, sosyal kunyari) that afternoon, I was super inggit.  Pero okay na rin kasi kasama naman ako sa lunch meeting the next day.

            The next day, Friday, we left the office at around 12:00 NN in time for our 12:30 PM meeting.  After the usual niceties, we were given the Menu and were told to order what we want.  Siempre sinamantala ko, I ordered lemonade, prawns and tomato bisque, the grilled chilean sea bass and blue berry cheesecake for dessert (yum yum yum!).  “G”, on the other hand, ordered salad, seafood pasta and cinnamon apples.

            After coffee and tea, we went back to office at around 2:30 PM.  An hour or so after that, “G” asked if I’m okay and if my tummy feels sick like hers.  I told her that I feel stuffed but I’m fine.  It was then that “G” blurted out her most famous line to date — “Haayyy, ang hirap talaga nang may bitukang dukha!” LOL “Hindi pwede sa mamahaling food!”  HAHAHA!  

            I don’t think the Le Soufflé food caused “G”s stomach trouble.  I think the culprit was the pansit and chicken that we sampled when we got back to office (it was someone’s bday blowout), but I liked “G”s explanation better.      

 

            Moral of the story:       gluttony is a sin because it is.

            Lesson learned:           social climbing is hazardous to health.

 

Hi “G”, i hope you don’t mind.


one fanny moment

October 17, 2008
Leave a Comment

How do you tell if it’s already time to replace your fan?

I don’t know but I think it’s time to replace ours…..

“D” and her pathetic attempts to fix the beheaded fan.

Agree?

HA HA HA HA HA!

I’m definitely buying a new one first thing tomorrow morning =)


impostor!

October 17, 2008
6 Comments

While waiting for inspiration to strike, I passed time by googling some people (nasty habit. must stop. not!).

 Among other things, I discovered that my grade school crush is now a plastic surgeon.  WoW! 

When I ran out of names, I typed my own name and searched “the web”.  First on the results preview was my Facebook account, then Daileen’s account and then the IBP (Integrated Bar of the Philippines) list.  When I tried “pages from Philippines”, the IBP list took the top spot followed by the SC (Supreme Court) version.  Haayyy, I’m leading such a boring life.  Well, at least it’s better than “your search did not match any documents” right? 

While secretly wishing that my name will somehow appear in a news or something, I tried a different approach.  I went to Friendster’s site, used the Friendster search engine and that made a lot of difference. 

Results: 14 people matches.

What the &$%@! I have no less than 13 namesakes.  Ang daming kong impostor!    

Although there are a few genuine looking accounts, the others are sham.  One features Anne Curtis, while another contains pictures of Bea Alonzo.  I now officially hate Friendster. 

Ikaw, nasa Google ka ba?


    archives