Confessions of AttyArj

dilemma | September 18, 2008

Last Monday I saw a newspaper ad re Canon digital cameras.  Canon has an ongoing promo.  Buy a new Canon camera and get a new Selphy photo printer worth P6,500.00 for just P750.00.  It seemed like a good deal so I checked out Canon’s website.

When I saw the cameras, I got really excited.  I want!  I was thinking along the line of an early Christmas gift for myself.  If I charge it to my card, pwede akong mag 0% interest plan.  Come Christmas, bayad nako.  Hmmmn.  Why not?

Problem.  Two weeks ago my car aircon decided to become a heater.

Since the weather seemed to cooperate (it’s quite rainy last week and the week before), I didn’t mind the suffocating heat, after all the office is just a five minute drive.  I was scared and didn’t dare to open the windows because of the recent hold-up incident in the Ortigas area.  But then, this weekend, the sun came back with a vengeance.  Grabe ang init!  Muntik na akong mapabili ng pranela (the colorful rags) sa mamang nag-titinda sa ilalim ng Julia Vargas Fly-Over.  Since the heat was unbearable, Anne even had to drive me to our salon last Saturday.  (Thanks Anne.  Enjoy naman foot spa di ba?)

Anyway, since Anne has a cousin (Gelli) who owns a talyer, I asked her to call Gelli.  Since her car also seemed to have a problem, Anne called Gelli and requested to have our cars picked up.  Are we sosyal or what?  hehehe.  Actually, tamad lang.

Our cars were picked up Monday.  Anne’s car came home Tuesday.  Yung car ko ata ay matutulog sa talyer ni Gelli ’till kingdom come.

This morning, Gelli told me the extent of the repairs that they have to do.  Correction, hindi pala repairs kundi “replacements”.

Here’s my text conversation with Gelli:

Gelli: “Gud pm Arj, kailangan palitan compressor and drier ng car mo.  txt ko muna total estimate b4 ko pa go ha. tnx.”

Arj: “ok. pahanapan mo na lang ng surplus. tnx.”

Gelli” “Hi rhea, total cost wld be P_____ lahat na parts and labor wid surplus compressor”.

Arj: “Ang laki naman. surplus na yun?”

Gelli: “Yup. Kasama cleaning and everything.  Kc pati ung drier and expansion valve pnapalitan and mga oring. ung pinaka compressor P____ ung amt half ng bnew.”

Arj: “Wala bang discount?”

Gelli: “Bigyan nlang kta discount. pero di ko pa alam hw much.   Pa go ko na? Kc bka maunahan tayo dun s compressor.”

Since I don’t even know what a compressor is (ang alam ko lang, lahat ng air con may compressor), I called Papa.  I asked him how much a compressor is and if okay lang yung quotation ni Gelli.  Hindi daw nya alam.  Siguro daw ganon talaga.  Haayyy, big help.  Ang galing talaga ng tatay ko.

So, now, I have a dilemma.  Should I buy a new camera and get a photo printer (almost) for free or have my car fixed?

If I choose the camera and printer I’ll be sooo (trigger) happy.  If I choose to have my car fixed, I’ll be able to drive in comfort (no more pretending that it’s cold inside although I’m sweating like a cold Coca Cola bottle. Guilty!).

HELP!

Note:  I welcome unsolicited advices.

1 Comment »

  1. Go for the car repair first, because you might be trigger happy with your camera and printer but you’ll get frustrated with your Car going bonkers after. And “baka lumala ang condition ng car mo”, hala! Go have your car checked with another Auto Shop 🙂 Maybe then, it’s less expensive.

    Comment by Aliaskoh — October 16, 2008 @ 1:54 pm


Leave a Reply

    archives

    September 2008
    S M T W T F S
        Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
